Birdman Nabs Six Independent Spirit Award Nominations!

essay plan template doc abilify maintena canada cialis commande en ligne abilify how much does it cost go ug accutane how to write an essay in ielts test experimenting with viagra for young men common app essay ideas topics see campground business plan pris p viagra i turkiet nova scotia gaming foundation scholarship essay contest pcs will writing service case study examples retail marketing political issues research paper topics anxiety buspar social essays plagiarism checker propecia sensiblu domperidone rx canada get link click birdman

Alejandro G. Iñárritu’s  Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance) led the way at the 2015 Independent Spirit Award Nominations were announced today. The film received nominations for best film, director, lead actor, supporting female, supporting male and best cinematography.

Richard Linklater’s Boyhood, Dan Gilroy’s Nightcrawler and Ava Duvernay’s Selma each nabbed five noms. Damien Chazelle’s Whiplash grabbed four. For a complete list of the nominees, follow the jump.


BEST FEATURE (Award given to the Producer. Executive Producers are not awarded.)

Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance) Producers: Alejandro G. Iñárritu, John Lesher, Arnon Milchan, James W. Skotchdopole

Boyhood Producers: Richard Linklater, Jonathan Sehring, John Sloss, Cathleen Sutherland

Love is Strange Producers: Lucas Joaquin, Lars Knudsen, Ira Sachs, Jayne Baron Sherman, Jay Van Hoy

Selma Producers: Christian Colson, Dede Gardner, Jeremy Kleiner, Oprah Winfrey

Whiplash Producers: Jason Blum, Helen Estabrook, David Lancaster, Michael Litvak


Damien Chazelle: Whiplash

Ava DuVernay: Selma

Alejandro G. Iñárritu:  Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)

Richard Linklater: Boyhood

David Zellner Kumiko: The Treasure Hunter


Scott Alexander & Larry Karaszewski: Big Eyes

J.C. Chandor: A Most Violent Year

Dan Gilroy: Nightcrawler

Jim Jarmusch: Only Lovers Left Alive

Ira Sachs & Mauricio Zacharias: Love is Strange

BEST FIRST FEATURE (Award given to the director and producer)

A Girl Walks Home Alone at Night Director: Ana Lily Amirpour Producers: Justin Begnaud, Sina Sayyah

Dear White People Director/Producer: Justin Simien Producers: Effie T. Brown, Ann Le, Julia Lebedev, Angel Lopez, Lena Waithe

Nightcrawler Director: Dan Gilroy Producers: Jennifer Fox, Tony Gilroy, Jake Gyllenhaal, David Lancaster, Michel Litvak

Obvious Child Director: Gillian Robespierre Producer: Elisabeth Holm

She’s Lost Control Director/Producer: Anja Marquardt Producers: Mollye Asher, Kiara C. Jones


Desiree Akhavan Appropriate Behavior

Sara Colangelo Little Accidents

Justin Lader The One I Love

Anja Marquardt She’s Lost Control

Justin Simien Dear White People

JOHN CASSAVETES AWARD – Given to the best feature made for under $500,000.  Award given to the writer, director and producer.  Executive Producers are not awarded.

Blue Ruin Writer/Director: Jeremy Saulnier Producers:  Richard Peete, Vincent Savino, Anish Savjani

It Felt Like Love Writer/Director/Producer: Eliza Hittman Producers: Shrihari Sathe, Laura Wagner

Land Ho! Writers/Directors: Aaron Katz & Martha Stephens Producers: Christina Jennings, Mynette Louie, Sara Murphy

Man From Reno Writer/Director: Dave Boyle Writers: Joel Clark, Michael Lerman Producer: Ko Mori

Test Writer/Director/Producer: Chris Mason Johnson Producer: Chris Martin


Marion Cotillard The Immigrant

Rinko Kikuchi Kumiko, The Treasure Hunter

Julianne Moore Still Alice

Jenny Slate Obvious Child

Tilda Swinton Only Lovers Left Alive


André Benjamin Jimi: All Is By My Side

Jake Gyllenhaal Nightcrawler

Michael Keaton Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)

John Lithgow Love is Strange

David Oyelowo Selma


Patricia Arquette Boyhood

Jessica Chastain A Most Violent Year

Carmen Ejogo Selma

Andrea Suarez Paz Stand Clear of the Closing Doors

Emma Stone Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)


Riz Ahmed Nightcrawler

Ethan Hawke Boyhood

Alfred Molina Love is Strange

Edward Norton Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)

J.K. Simmons Whiplash


Darius Khondji The Immigrant

Emmanuel Lubezki  Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)

Sean Porter It Felt Like Love

Lyle Vincent A Girl Walks Home Alone at Night

Bradford Young Selma


Sandra Adair  Boyhood

Tom Cross Whiplash

John Gilroy  Nightcrawler

Ron Patane  A Most Violent Year

Adam Wingard  The Guest

BEST DOCUMENTARY (Award given to the director and producer)

20,000 Days on Earth Directors: Iain Forsyth & Jane Pollard Producers: Dan Bowen, James Wilson

CITIZENFOUR Director/Producer: Laura Poitras  Producers: Mathilde Bonnefoy, Dirk Wilutzky

Stray Dog Director: Debra Granik Producer: Anne Rosellini

The Salt of the Earth Directors: Juliano Ribeiro Salgado and Wim Wenders  Producer: David Rosier

Virunga Director/Producer: Orlando von Einsiedel Producer: Joanna Natasegara

BEST INTERNATIONAL FILM (Award given to the director)

Force Majeure (Sweden) Director: Ruben Östlund

Ida (Poland) Director: Pawel Pawlikowski

Leviathan (Russia) Director: Andrey Zvyagintsev

Mommy (Canada) Director: Xavier Dolan

Norte, the End of History (Philippines) Director: Lav Diaz

Under the Skin (United Kingdom) Director: Jonathan Glazer

ROBERT ALTMAN AWARD – (Given to one film’s director, casting director and ensemble cast)

Inherent Vice Director: Paul Thomas Anderson Casting Director: Cassandra Kulukundis Ensemble Cast: Josh Brolin, Martin Donovan, Jena Malone, Joanna Newsom, Joaquin Phoenix, Eric Roberts, Maya Rudolph, Martin Short Serena Scott Thomas, Benicio Del Toro, Katherine Waterston, Michael Kenneth Williams, Owen Wilson, Reese Witherspoon


Foxcatcher Director/Producer: Bennett Miller Producers: Anthony Bregman, Megan Ellison, Jon Kilik  Writers: E. Max Frye, Dan Futterman  Actors: Steve Carell, Mark Ruffalo, Channing Tatum

18th ANNUAL PIAGET PRODUCERS AWARD – The 18th annual Producers Award, sponsored by Piaget, honors emerging producers who, despite highly limited resources, demonstrate the creativity, tenacity and vision required to produce quality, independent films.  The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant funded by Piaget.

Chad Burris Elisabeth Holm Chris Ohlson

21st ANNUAL KIEHL’S SOMEONE TO WATCH AWARD – The 21st annual Someone to Watch Award, sponsored by Kiehl’s Since 1851, recognizes a talented filmmaker of singular vision who has not yet received appropriate recognition.  The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant funded by Kiehl’s Since 1851.

A Girl Walks Home Alone at Night Director: Ana Lily Amirpour

H. Directors: Rania Attieh & Daniel Garcia

The Retrieval Director: Chris Eska

20th ANNUAL LENSCRAFTERS TRUER THAN FICTION AWARD – The 20th annual Truer Than Fiction Award, sponsored by LensCrafters is presented to an emerging director of non-fiction features who has not yet received significant recognition.  The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant funded by LensCrafters.

Approaching the Elephant Director: Amanda Rose Wilder

Evolution of a Criminal Director: Darius Clark Monroe

The Kill Team Director: Dan Krauss

The Last Season  Director: Sara Dosa