And The Nominees For The 2011 NCLR ALMA Awards® Are…!

2011 NCLR ALMA AWARD LOGO 07-14-11.jpg

The nominees for the 2011 NCLR ALMA Awards® were revealed today along with details for “Vote Your Way to VIP,” a new online voting system and contest. For the first time, fans will be able to vote for their favorites and the winners will be revealed during the one-hour primetime special airing Friday, September 16 from 8 to 9 pm ET on NBC.

Details from the press release on procedural changes to the awards, and the full list of nominees, follow the jump.

The categories up for nomination have now been repositioned as “Favorite” rather than “Best,” as a nod to the capacity of fans and the popular vote to determine who will emerge victorious at this year’s ceremony. The NCLR ALMA Awards will be a night dedicated to honoring the spirit and accomplishment of some of the most prolific Latinos in entertainment spanning music, television, and film. Co-hosted by Eva Longoria and George Lopez, the telecast will celebrate the entertainers who have upheld and promoted a socially proactive image of Hispanic culture in today’s media.

With this new online voting system, fans will now have the power to drive in enough votes to see their favorite stars, musical performers, and shows receive the recognition and prestige that have become hallmarks of the famed award show. Additionally, with the “Vote Your Way to VIP” contest, fans who have cast their vote will get the chance to win a VIP experience for two including air, hotel, VIP tickets to show, and VIP Post Party. To vote, go to On August 22, 2011, the Favorite Movie Category will be added to the voting form. All voting ends on September 5, 2011.

Though not all awards will be presented on air during the NBC special, the remaining will be presented in the pre-television show streamed online via

Winners for the NCLR ALMA Awards will be determined by evaluating votes cast, rankings in Box Office, Nielsen, and Billboard, and consultation with the NCLR Alma Awards Production Leadership Team. Selection Rules and Eligibility are posted on the website at

The executive producers of the ALMA Awards will be Bob Bain, Eva Longoria, and Janet Murguía. NBCUniversal and its parent company, Comcast Corporation, which has had a national partnership with NCLR since 2006, will play a key role supporting the program as creative partners and investing in the production of the awards show.

PepsiCo is this year’s Presenting Sponsor – additional sponsors include Target, McDonald’s, State Farm, General Motors, and Comcast.

For additional information, including announcements about the presenters and performers at this year’s ceremony, please visit or follow the show on Twitter at @almaawards. For embeddable clips and full episodes from NBC shows, please visit’s official show site:

The Nominees are:

Favorite Movie Actor

  • Antonio Banderas – You Will Meet A Tall Dark Stranger
  • Demián Bichir – A Better Life
  • Bobby Cannavale – Win Win
  • Michael Peña – Battle: Los Angeles
  • Danny Trejo – Machete

Favorite Movie Actress – Drama/Adventure

  • Jessica Alba – Machete
  • Penelope Cruz – Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides
  • Rosario Dawson – Unstoppable
  • Michelle Rodriguez – Battle: Los Angeles
  • Zoë Saldana – Takers

Favorite Movie Actress – Comedy/Musical

  • Christina Aguilera – Burlesque
  • Eva Mendes – The Other Guys
  • Alexa Vega – From Prada to Nada
  • Cameron Diaz – Bad Teacher
  • Selena Gomez – Monte Carlo

Favorite TV Series

  • CSI: Miami (CBS)
  • Desperate Housewives (ABC)
  • Modern Family (ABC)
  • Wizards of Waverly Place (Disney Channel)

Favorite TV Reality, Variety, or Comedy Personality or Act

  • Christina Aguilera – The Voice (NBC)
  • George Lopez – Lopez Tonight (TBS)
  • Jennifer Lopez – American Idol (FOX)
  • Mario Lopez – Mario Lopez: Saved By the Baby (VH1)
  • Cesar Millan – Dog Whisperer With Cesar Millan (National Geographic Channel)

Favorite TV Actor – Leading Role

  • Ricardo Chavira – Desperate Housewives (ABC)
  • Ian Gomez – Cougar Town (ABC)
  • Joshua Gomez – Chuck (NBC)
  • James Roday – Psych (USA Network)
  • Adam Rodriguez – CSI: Miami (CBS)

Favorite TV Actor – Supporting Role

  • Oscar Nuñez – The Office (NBC)
  • Rico Rodriguez – Modern Family (ABC)
  • Michael Trevino – The Vampire Diaries (CW)
  • Tristan Wilds – 90210 (CW)
  • David Zayas – Dexter (Showtime)

Favorite TV Actress – Leading Role in a Drama

  • Cote de Pablo – NCIS (CBS)
  • Eva LaRue – CSI: Miami (CBS)
  • Francia Raisa – The Secret Life of the American Teenager (ABC Family)
  • Sara Ramirez – Grey’s Anatomy (ABC)
  • Sara Shahi – Fairly Legal (USA Network)

Favorite TV Actress – Leading Role in a Comedy

  • Selena Gomez – Wizards of Waverly Place (Disney Channel)
  • Victoria Justice – Victorious (Nickelodeon)
  • Demi Lovato – Sonny With a Chance (Disney Channel)
  • Naya Rivera – Glee (FOX)
  • Sofía Vergara – Modern Family (ABC)

Favorite TV Actress – Supporting Role

  • Maria Canals-Barrera – Wizards of Waverly Place (Disney Channel)
  • Constance Marie – Switched At Birth (ABC Family)
  • Aubrey Plaza – Parks and Recreation (NBC)
  • Sarah Ramos – Parenthood (NBC)
  • Lauren Vélez – Dexter (Showtime)

Favorite Male Music Artist

  • Taio Cruz
  • Enrique Iglesias
  • Bruno Mars
  • Ricky Martin
  • Pitbull

Favorite Female Music Artist

  • Christina Aguilera
  • Selena Gomez
  • Jennifer Lopez
  • Naya Rivera
  • Shakira

Logo provided by NBC/Courtesy of the NCLR ALMA Awards®