Prep for The Oscars® with Three Great Directors on El Rey Network!

George Miller 3

What better way to prepare for the Oscars® could there possibly be than getting inside the heads of three top filmmakers?

El Rey Network will be running four episodes of El Rey Presents: The Directors Chair prior to February 28’s Oscar® Awards show – Quentin Tarantino, George Miller (Pictured above) and Sylvester Stallone engaged in conversation by Robert Rodriguez.

The Director’s Chair Red Carpet Marathon begins at 4:30 (3:30C) and continues through to 8:30 (7:30) on February 28th. Follow the jump for details and teasers.





In anticipation of the 88th Academy Awards, El Rey Network provides movie fans with an inside look at the men behind three of this year’s nominated films and film franchises with back-to-back installments of “El Rey Network Presents: The Director’s Chair” starting Sunday, February 28 at 4:30pm ET/PT until 8:30pm ET/PT. Featuring maverick filmmaker and El Rey Network founder, Robert Rodriguez, as he engages the industry’s most creative storytellers: including Quentin Tarantino (“The Hateful Eight”), George Miller (“Mad Max: Fury Road”) and Sylvester Stallone (Rocky and nominated for his performance in “Creed”), the “Director’s Chair Red Carpet Marathon” provides an in-depth look at the movie making magic just before the awards kick-off. And you can bet Rodriguez won’t ask them who they’re wearing.


El Rey Network Presents: The Director’s Chair” – Quentin Tarantino Part I & II

4:30pm ET/PT – 6:30pm ET/PT


In the two-part interview Robert Rodriguez discusses Tarantino’s film career through the lens of their 20-year friendship, using never-before-seen personal footage to discuss topics from screenwriting and camera placement to Spaghetti Westerns and Kung Fu. Among the projects Tarantino and Rodriguez created together is the groundbreaking cult-classic film “From Dusk Till Dawn,” which Rodriguez re-imagined into a TV series that premiered in March on El Rey Network.


El Rey Network Presents: The Director’s Chair” – George Miller

6:30pm ET/PT – 7:30pm ET/PT

Join director Robert Rodriguez as he sits down with fellow filmmaker George Miller for an hour-long conversation about Miller’s stunning career as director, writer and producer of some of modern cinema’s most beloved and iconic films.  Together, they trace the Australian-born director’s journey from practicing medical physician to creator of the visionary “Mad Max” series, which includes “Mad Max” (1979), “Mad Max 2: The Road Warrior” (1981), “Mad Max Beyond Thunderdome” (1985), and this year’s critically acclaimed, global box office hit “Mad Max: Fury Road,” starring Tom Hardy and Charlize Theron.


El Rey Network Presents: The Director’s Chair” – Sylvester Stallone

7:30pm ET/PT – 8:30pm ET/PT

In this installment of “The Director’s Chair” the Oscar®-nominated actor, director and creator of the Rocky franchise Sylvester Stallone discusses his craft with his “Spy Kids 3-D: Game Over” director Robert Rodriguez. In addition to his personal inspirations and influences, the two discuss Stallone’s iconic career, from his love of painting to how his role in “Death of a Salesman” launched his acting career, to the development of his script for “Rocky” and what was required to convince the studio to let him play the titular role in the Oscar-winning film – a role responsible for his meteoric rise to stardom. Stallone also reveals how his creative vision has evolved over the years.  From his beginnings as an artist to reinventing his boxing technique for Rocky, to his experience with method acting First Blood.


Academy Award Nominations Include:

  • Best Picture – Mad Max: Fury Road (Directed by George Miller)
  • Best Director – George Miller for Mad Max: Fury Road
  • Best Supporting Actor – Sylvester Stallone for Creed
  • Best Supporting Actress – Jennifer Jason Leigh for The Hateful Eight (Quentin Tarantino)
  • Best Cinematography – Robert Richardson for The Hateful Eight (Quentin Tarantino)

– John Seale for Mad Max: Fury Road (George Miller)

  • Best Production Design – Lisa Thompson and Colin Gibson for Mad Max: Fury Road (George Miller)
  • Best Costume Design – Jenny Beaven for Mad Max: Fury Road (George Miller)
  • Best Film Editing – Margaret Sixel for Mad Max: Fury Road (George Miller)
  • Best Visual Effects – Dan Oliver, Andrew Jackson and Tom Wood for Mad Max: Fury Road (George Miller)
  • Best Sound Editing – David White and Mark Mangini for Mad Max: Fury Road (George Miller)
  • Best Sound Mixing – Gregg Rudloff and Chris Jenkins for Mad Max: Fury Road (George Miller)
  • Best Original Music Score – Ennio Morricone for The Hateful Eight (Quentin Tarantino)