Don Mischer Returns To Produce 68th Emmy® Awards!

Don Mischer

Emmy Award-winning producer Don Mischer is returning to produce the 68th Emmy® Awards – which will air on ABC on Sunday, September 18th (7/8C).

Jimmy Kimmel will host. Further details lurk after the break.


Primetime Emmy®-winning live television producer Don Mischer will executive produce the “68th Emmys” telecast. It was announced today by ABC, the telecast home of this year’s Emmys, and by the Television Academy. In addition, Mischer Productions’ Charlie Haykel and Juliane Hare are set to return as co-executive producers of the awards telecast. As previously announced, Jimmy Kimmel (host of the “64th Primetime Emmy Awards” in 2012) will return to host this year’s star-studded event, live from Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles on SUNDAY, SEPTEMBER 18 (7:00-11:00 p.m. EDT/4:00-8:00 p.m. PDT), on the ABC Television Network.

“We’re honored to be producing the Emmys for ABC and the Television Academy.  We love Jimmy Kimmel,” said Don Mischer.  “He brings a level of smart humor, fun and unpredictability, which is the perfect combination for this show. With the high quality of television and Jimmy as host, get ready for a funny and adventurous Emmys this year!”

Mischer is an internationally acclaimed producer and director of television and live events. He has been honored with 15 Emmy Awards, a record 10 Directors Guild of America Awards for Outstanding Directorial Achievement, two NAACP Image Awards, a Peabody Award for excellence in broadcasting, Europe’s prestigious Gold Rose of Montreux and the 2012 Norman Lear Achievement Award in Television from the Producers Guild of America. In 2014, he was given the distinct honor of becoming the first live event producer/director to be awarded his own star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame.

As president of Don Mischer Productions, Mischer’s credits range from “We Are One: The Obama Inaugural Celebration at the Lincoln Memorial,” “The Kennedy Center Honors,” and the “100th Anniversary of Carnegie Hall” to Super Bowl Halftime shows (starring Prince, The Rolling Stones, Paul McCartney and Bruce Springsteen, among others), the Democratic National Convention, and the Opening Ceremonies of both the Winter and Summer Olympic Games.

His recent works include producing and/or directing the live nationwide broadcast of the 9/11 Memorial Museum Dedication, the 67th Emmy Awards (hosted by Andy Samberg), the 83rd, 84th, and 85th Academy Awards, and the Breakthrough Prize, celebrating Scientists Changing the World.

Don has also produced specials with Beyonce, Bono, Prince, Rihanna, Adele, Bruce Springsteen, James Taylor, Taylor Swift, Stevie Wonder, Sting, Jennifer Hudson, Mary J. Blige, Elton John, Justin Timberlake, Barbra Streisand, Usher and Carrie Underwood, among others.

He has received the Governors Award from the National Association of Choreographers and is a member of the Event Industry Hall of Fame and the Producers Guild of America. During his career he has served two terms on the Board of Governors for the Television Academy, and he was recently elected to the National Board of the Directors Guild of America.

The Academy previously announced that the Creative Arts Emmy Awards will take place over two nights, Saturday and Sunday, September 10 and 11 at the Microsoft. Bob Bain will executive produce.

The Television Academy will announce nominations for the “68th Emmy Awards” the morning of Thursday, July 14.

About the Television Academy

The Television Academy seeks to expand the horizons of television excellence. It strives to empower storytellers who shape the evolving television space through the programs, publications and events of the Academy and its Foundation.  And it celebrates those who have led excellence by recording their stories and recognizing their achievements through accolades and awards, including television’s most coveted prize, the Primetime Emmy Award.  For more information, please visit

For more information and updates on the “68th Primetime Emmy Awards,” visit and follow @TelevisionAcad on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook,Tumblr and Pinterest.