ZZ Top: A Tribute From Friends rocks all the way!


If you’re a ZZ Top fan, you’re gonna love this tribue album. ZZ Top: A Tribute From Friends has many guest artists including: Steven Tyler, Jonny Lang, Wolfmother, Coheed & Cambria, Daughtry, Jamey Johnson, Wyclef Jean, and Nickelback to name a few. This album contains eleven of ZZ Top’s classic songs and every song is worth listening to. Here’s the track listing:

1. “Sharp Dressed Man” – The M.O.B. (Mick Fleetwood, Steven Tyler, Jonny Lang & John McVie)

2. “Gimme All Your Lovin’” – Filter

3. “Tush” – Grace Potter & The Nocturnals

4. “Legs” – Nickelback

5. “Cheap Sunglasses” – Wolfmother

6. “Got Me Under Pressure” – Duff McKagan’s LOADED

7. “Beer Drinkers and Hell Raisers” – Coheed & Cambria

8. “Just Got Paid” – Mastodon

9. “Rough Boy” – Wyclef Jean

10. “Waitin’ for the Bus / Jesus Just Left Chicago” – Daughtry

11. “La Grange” – Jamey Johnson

ZZ Top: A Tribute From Friends is fun to listen to and is filled with all kinds of rock energy. Every artist on this album does an amazing job at interpreting/revitalizing these classic ZZ Top songs. There is not one song on this tribute album I dislike. Each song proudly stands on its own and does justice. The songs that stand out most to me are Nickelback’s version of “Legs”, Wolfmother’s version of “Cheap Sunglasses, and Wyclef Jean’s version of “Rough Boy”. But, these songs would not be complete without the additional songs and artists; they help to complete each other. If you’re a ZZ Top fan, this is an album you’ll want to add to your collection. If you’ve never heard a ZZ Top album but like rock music, this is a perfect album to add to your collection as well. I thought the music from ZZ Top: A Tribute From Friends was entertaining and was a real pleasure to listen to. With that said, my grade for ZZ Top: A Tribute From Friends is B

ZZ Top: A Tribute From Friends was released October 11th, 2011 on the Show Dog-Universal Music label and  can be purchased from Amazon, and some of the songs through ITunes