truTV Orders First Scripted Comedy – Those Who Can’t!


truTV has ordered ten episodes of Those Who Can’t, a scripted comedy series about three frustrated high school teachers who are ‘about as screwed up as the kids they teach.’

The series was created by – and stars – Adam Cayton-Holland, Andrew Orvedahl and Ben Roy, members of the Denver-based comedy troupe, The Grawlix.

Those Who Can’t is set for an early 2016 premiere. For further detail, follow the jump.

truTV Says Yes They Can to The Grawlix’s Those Who Can’t, As Network Greenlights Its First-Ever Full-Length Scripted Comedy

Making its first foray into full-length scripted comedy, truTV has given the greenlight to Those Who Can’t. The comedy about a trio of frustrated high school teachers stars show creators Adam Cayton-Holland, Andrew Orvedahl and Ben Roy, members of the Denver-based comedy troupe The Grawlix. The series is being produced by Thank You, Brain! Productions and 3 Arts Entertainment.

truTV has ordered 10 episodes of Those Who Can’t, with plans to launch by early 2016. Set in Denver, the half-hour comedy follows three dysfunctional high school teachers – played by Cayton-Holland, Orvedahl and Roy – who are about as screwed-up as the kids they teach. Maria Thayer (Eagleheart) plays Abbey Logan, a new librarian who questions, denies and then joins in on the antics of her co-workers.

Those Who Can’t is the latest project to come to truTV as part of the network’s extensive and ongoing brand refresh, which launched in October under the “Way More Fun” banner. truTV has launched a number of new series coinciding with the brand refresh, including its first-ever sketch comedy, Friends of the People, also from 3 Arts Entertainment.

Those Who Can’t has exactly the kind of fresh, slightly off-kilter humor we’re looking for as we venture into the world of scripted comedy,” said Chris Linn, president, head of programming for truTV. “Adam, Andrew and Ben have created a terrifically funny show that’s a perfect fit for the new truTV and our target audience of young adult viewers.”

Serving as executive producers on Those Who Can’t are show creators Adam Cayton-Holland, Andrew Orvedahl and Ben Roy; Tracey Baird and Krysia Plonka of Thank You, Brain! Productions; Michael Rotenberg and Josh Lieberman of 3 Arts Entertainment. Angel Annussek is executive-producing for truTV, along with Rich Korson, who signed an overall development deal with truTV in 2014.

About truTV

truTV takes viewers on a fun ride that surprises and entertains. The network delivers a dynamic mix of action, comedy and competition, featuring engaging characters and compelling new worlds that pull you in and leave you wanting more. Currently seen in 92 million U.S. households, truTV features such popular original series as Impractical Jokers, The Carbonaro Effect, Friends of the People, Fake Off, Branson Famous, Hack My Life, Hair Jacked, How to Be a Grown-Up, Barmageddon, Hardcore Pawn, Breaking Greenville and Kart Life. In addition, truTV is a partner in airing the NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Championship.

Turner Broadcasting System, Inc., a Time Warner company, creates and programs branded news; entertainment; kids and young adult; and sports media environments on television and other platforms for consumers around the world.


Connect with truTV


YouTube Channel: 


Facebook: T

witter: @truTV | @truTVPR

TV Everywhere:

truTV apps available on iOS and Android platforms.