Stranger Things Original Series Soundtrack Volume 1 August 12th!


On August 12th, Lakeshore Records will be releasing the STRANGER THINGS – Original Netflix Series Soundtrack Volume One digitally. The CD will be in stores on September 16th; Volume Two will have its digital release on August 19th with the CD to follow on September 23rd.

Both volumes will feature the series’ original score by Kyle Dixon and Michael Stein of Austin, Texas’ experimental synth quartet S U R V I V E.



Featuring Original Music By Kyle Dixon and Michael Stein of S U R V I V E

(August 10, 2016 – Los Angeles, CA) – Lakeshore Records will release the STRANGER THINGSOriginal Netflix Series Soundtrack in two parts. Volume One releases digitally August 12th and on CD September 16th. Volume Two releases digitally August 19th and on CD September 23, 2016. Both volumes feature the original score by Kyle Dixon and Michael Stein, members of the popular Austin experimental synth band S U R V I V E.

“The directors were previously fans of S U R V I V E. They used a song from our first LP in a trailer they made to pitch their concept to Netflix. Once the show was picked up, they reached out to see if we were available to score the show,” Dixon stated. Stein added, “We discussed having a classic tone and feel to the music for the show – but being reserved enough that it wasn’t ’80s cheese – while offering a refreshing quality so that felt modern. This was one of the qualities that drew them to our music in the first place. Having a familiarity with classic synths worked, but with an overall forward thinking approach.”

STRANGER THINGS is the breakout Netflix original series set in 1983 Indiana when a young boy vanishes into thin air. As friends, family and local police search for answers, they are drawn into an extraordinary mystery involving top-secret government experiments, terrifying supernatural forces and one very strange little girl.  A love letter to the ’80s supernatural classics that captivated a generation, STRANGER THINGS stars Winona Ryder, David Harbour, Matthew Modine, Finn Wolfhard, Millie Bobby Brown, Gaten Matarazzo, Caleb McLaughlin, Natalia Dyer and Charlie Heaton. The series is now streaming globally on Netflix.

Formed in 2009, the prolific Austin, TX experimental synth quartet S U R V I V E have released two full­-lengths and numerous EPs / singles since their inception, including recent contributions to the soundtrack for the acclaimed indie horror film The Guest. Additionally, two of the group’s members recently scored the soundtrack for the first season of STRANGER THINGS, launched this summer on Netflix. S U R V I V E has appeared at esteemed festivals across the US including Moogfest, Levitation Fest, Fun Fun Fun, Beserktown, Day in The Desert, Decibel, etc. and have played alongside acts like Goblin, John Maus, Tame Impala, Lightning Bolt, This Will Destroy You, A Place To Bury Strangers, Max Cooper, and many others; Noisey even called their live show “transcendental.”

The first season of STRANGER THINGS is available to stream now on Netflix.  Lakeshore Records will release STRANGER THINGSOriginal Netflix Series Soundtrack Volume 1 digitally on Friday, August 12th and CD September 16th and Volume 2 digitally on Friday, August 19th and CD September 23, 2016.